My Seventeenth Year in Review

Happy Late Fourth… I was going the entire day with my dad at Universal Studios so I kind of missed the conventional Fourth of July celebration post. So I’ll just say here: I love you America. I’ll make you proud to call me American, and you make me proud to call you my homeland.

I do this thing every birthday and New Year where I look at my year in review and how far I’ve come. However, on my birthday, I was unusually busy and missed the opportunity. So I’ll take the opportunity here to write about my year and let you all read about it. (I know you’re dying to hear all about it.)

I think I’ve grown more in this past year than in any other year, so that makes me happy.

(Also: I should clarify that I just turned seventeen. However, that does not make last year my sixteenth year, because everyone turns x years old at the end of their xth year. I turned seventeen at the conclusion of my seventeenth year, marking the achievement of seventeen years of life. Make sense?)

​Idea from Everyday Reading, cause I’m a copycat.

1. What did you do in your seventeenth year that you’d never done before?

I participated in the Hill Cumorah Pageant. I attended a charter school part time. I made it into my Regional and All-State choirs. I went to Disneyland. I drove a car for the first time (and got my license). I went to Prom.

2. Did you reach your goals, and will you make more for next year?

I made and reached a lot of personal goals, and I am totally making more for this next year. (Actually, I already have a list; maybe sometime I’ll post about it.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Not anyone super close to me, but I have two new cousins (one of whom I completely forgot about (after his mom’s pregnancy announcement via Facebook) until I met him when he was six months old…hello, cousin.)

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Yes, my grandpa.

5. What countries did you visit?

Only the US…but I’m going to Germany in one week! (So excited! Posts to come!)

6. What would you like to have this year that you lacked last year?

Money.

7. What dates from your seventeenth year will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

November 17: The day I saw Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them.

March 26: The day some close friends got in a bad car crash and miraculously survived.

8. What was your biggest personal achievement of the year?

Agh, there are so many…praise from my parents for reaching my goals.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Failure to stand up for myself.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

I got a cold lodged in my chest when I waded into a cold river on a cold day in a cold place. Sometimes the cough still haunts me.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

I paid off my debt to my parents for last year’s piano camp.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

My siblings for putting up with me.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

My siblings…and all the people who got too wrapped up in the elections.

14. Where did most of your money go?

To pay for last year’s piano camp.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them, books, piano, and camps.

16. What song will always remind you of your seventeenth year?

Let My Love Be Heard by Jake Runestad.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you: a) happier or sadder? b) thinner or fatter? c) richer or poorer?

Happier, thinner, and richer.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Prayer and scripture study, piano practicing, balancing my life.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Screen time, wasting time, sleeping in, eating unhealthy food.

20. Did you fall in love in your seventeenth year?

Yes.

21. What was your favorite TV program?

Um…I don’t watch TV shows. Studio C?

22. What was the best book you read?

You expect me to choose???

23. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Technically this happened a week after my seventeenth year, but I discovered how flawed my approach to piano was.

24. What did you want and get?

Clothes, camps, fun, love, good grades, friends, more social awareness.

25. What did you want and not get?

A Kindle.

26. What was your favorite film of this year?

The Giver.

27. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I saw WonderWoman with friends and went to dinner with my parents. I turned seventeen.

28. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

More progress in piano, my friends never leaving choir (thus leaving me alone there), and more social awareness.

29. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in your seventeenth year?

Let’s call it…a great awakening.

30. What kept you sane?

Music. Friends. My parents. Faith.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

